The thirteenth science discussion meeting took place on the 11th of June 2016 and was chaired by Dalia Taibah. The discussion revolved around emotional intelligence, the definition and the different levels of EQ, and how a person can control his/her EQ. There was also a debate around weather EQ is inherited or acquired.

Emotional Intelligence (EI or EQ)
It’s the ability to identify, assess, and manage emotions of oneself, others, and of groups. EI represents a set of competencies that allow us to perceive, understand, and regulate emotions. There are four or five levels of EI, depending on which theory we are discussing. In Goleman’s Theory, EI was divided into 4 levels; the lowest is self-awareness, which most adults have, is understanding your own emotions. Then comes self-management were you can manage your emotions. Again a lot of people can achieve this. The third level is social awareness which means understanding other people’s emotions, sympathy and empathy. The heist level of EI is relationship management. Here only a few people achieve it like successful leaders and politicians were you can manage and manipulate other people’s emotions.

Improving Emotional Intelligence
Emotional intelligence is a set of competencies (aptitudes, skills, abilities and traits). It can be learned, especially through coaching and it also increases with age and maturity. There are several ways to improve your EQ:

  •      Practice Observing How You Feel.
  •      Pay Attention to How You Behave.
  •      Take Responsibility for Your Feelings and Behavior.
  •      Practice Responding, Rather than Reacting.
  •      Practice Empathizing with Yourself and Others.
  •      Create A Positive Environment.
  •      Remember EI is a Lifetime Process.